where to begin?

How do we begin the search for our authentic selves?  This question has been on my mind and in my heart for a long time.  It’s been with me through my own beginning, and is still with me on this journey.  I think a lot about where I was and how I got here, and what the defining moment was for me that put me on this path.  So many small beginnings and changes crept up on me, that all led up to the bigger walk.  We are conditioned as a society to want bigger, better, more; we want events, not ordinary occurrences.  I cannot understand why a sale in a store also has to be an event… a “sale event”, in all caps.  Everything is an event.  The importance lies in being mindful of the event’s significance.  Is a sale on new cars an event?  How about the birth of a child?  Tying your shoes for the first time?  

Whispers carry so much more weight than shouts.  The art is in listening, and being able to tell the difference.

Leave a Reply

